Kingdom of the Desert Winds Cookbook

Cooking up our favorite Amtgard foods, weapons and accessories.

Transferring a Pattern to Freezer Paper ~Riken

1900064_740382785546_597073299_n 1926792_740382865386_1076924106_n

So, I have this very beat up pattern that I love. And I was telling Mom about it today and she suggested that I “just transfer it on to freezer paper.”

So, I was doing just that. Carefully pinning the pattern onto the paper, very delicately cutting around it. Tracing the lines by pencil. I’ve been at it for hours.

Well, Mom just walked past my door and asked me what I was doing. When I explained myself, she looked at me and went “Oh, honey. Did I never teach you the trick?”

I stopped cold, my back and feet aching from hours of work. “What trick?” I asked.

Mom smirked and went “Don’t kill me. Just get me the iron and the ironing board.”

I watched, dumbstruck, as my mom casually ironed the fragile pieces of tissue paper right on to the shiny side of the freezer paper. And it stuck.

In fifteen minutes, she completed for the entire pattern what I had been trying to recreate by hand for hours.

I feel stupid for not knowing this trick. And, as is my custom, I hate for others to not know a trick that I just learned. So yeah. Freezer paper, not wax paper. Shiny side up. Medium heat iron.

*Still in awe*

3 comments on “Transferring a Pattern to Freezer Paper ~Riken

  1. Roisin
    March 19, 2014

    I’ve used brown butcher paper in the past and I like the way that works, have also used Newspaper when I had too….

  2. Sindari
    March 19, 2014

    I’ve tried both and suggest trying exam table paper. It works very well (Superior to freezer paper IMO) and is relatively the same cost. Downside is availability. Ask your provider for a roll next time you go in or check Amazon. This works VERY well when you have a pattern with multiple sizes that you would like to maintain or a pattern you wish to keep original but need to make custom adjustments for an individual.

  3. E.Greer
    April 11, 2015

    I have been looking for thr iron on instructions. I have a question do you leave the tissue pattern on the freezer paper or remove it and cut out the pattern pieces placing them on the fabric to cut?
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 19, 2014 by in A&S Tips and Tricks, Garb, Riken and tagged , , , , , .
